Visit SIAM Blogs!

Theodore von Kármán Prize awarded to Weinan E and Richard D. James

Philadelphia, PA—The Theodore von Kármán Prize, established in 1968, is awarded for a notable application of mathematics to mechanics and/or the engineering sciences made during the five to ten years preceding the award.  The award may be given either for a single notable achievement or for a collection of such achievements.

The 2014 Theodore von Kármán Prize is awarded to Weinan E and Richard D. James.

The 2014 award is given to Weinan E for his deep mathematical contributions to fundamental questions in physics ranging from the structure of matter to turbulence, to a rejuvenation of numerical analysis in the light of multiple scales, and for his eclectic and ingenious solutions in scientific computing.

Weinan E is a professor in the department of mathematics and the Program in Applied and Computational Mathematics (PCAM) at Princeton University.  He is also a professor in the Beijing International Center for Mathematical Research (BICMR) at Peking University. Professor E’s research interests include multiscale modeling and theory and modeling of rare events with applications in fluid dynamics and material sciences. Weinan E is a SIAM Fellow.

The 2014 prize is also awarded to Richard D. James, whose contributions to materials science and mathematics have shaped a vibrant community.  Starting from his own experiments, he has forged a path from rational mechanics, via the calculus of variations, deep into elliptic regularity theory and back.  In particular, the prize honors his seminal work with John Ball on shape memory alloys, his more recent work with Gero Friesecke and Stefan Müller on a nonlinear Korn inequality that played an essential role in the successful rigorous derivation of nonlinear plate theories, and his very recent discovery and analysis of low-hysteresis shape memory alloys.

Dr. James is Distinguished McKnight University Professor in the Department of Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics (AEM) at the University of Minnesota.  His area of research includes thermodynamics of solids, phase transformations, micromagnetics, active materials, especially shape memory materials, and multiscale mathematical methods.

The cash award for the von Kármán Prize is $1,000. Each awardee receives a hand-calligraphed certificate. The Theodore von Kármán Prize lecture is delivered as part of the award. Professor Richard D. James delivered the Theodore von Kármán Lecture, titled “Materials from Mathematics” at the SIAM Annual Meeting in Chicago last month.

You can read more details about the Theodore von Kármán Prize.

Print Friendly
facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditlinkedinmailby feather

Comments are closed.