Visit SIAM Blogs!

SIAM Journal authors win the 2012 SIAG/Linear Algebra Prize

Sou-Cheng Choi, Christopher Paige, and Michael Saunders will be awarded the 2012 SIAG/LA Prize for their paper, “MINRES-QLP: A Krylov Subspace Method for Indefinite or Singular Symmetric Systems,” SIAM Journal on Scientific Computing, 33:1810-1836, 2011.  According to the prize committee: “The authors improve on MINRES, an elegant, efficient and widely used iterative method for linear systems, achieving optimal accuracy and extending the algorithm to the solution of least squares problems.”

Grey Ballard, James Demmel, Olga Holtz, and Oded Schwartz will be awarded the 2012 SIAG/LA Prize for their paper, “Minimizing Communication in Numerical Linear Algebra,” SIAM Journal on Matrix Analysis and Applications, 32:866-901, 2011.  According to the prize committee: “This work contributes in a fundamental manner to the communication complexity of matrix algorithms. It will have a strong impact on future high performance computing.”

The prize will be awarded on June 21, 2012, at the SIAM Conference on Applied Linear Algebra (LA12), to be held June 18-22, 2012, at Universitat Politecnica de Valencia, Spain.  The authors will present the papers in a lecture session.

The SIAM Activity Group on Linear Algebra (SIAG/LA) awards the prize every three years to the authors(s) of the most outstanding paper(s) on a topic in applicable linear algebra published in the three calendar years preceding the year of the award.

Print Friendly
facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditlinkedinmailby feather

Comments are closed.