Visit SIAM Blogs!

American mathematicians win prestigious Wolf Prize

Seven scientists from America, Germany and Austria as well as an architect from Portugal are recipients of Israel’s prestigious Wolf Prize, announced in Tel Aviv Wednesday.

Wolf winners are considered strong contenders for Nobel prizes, with about one in three laureates in chemistry, physics and medicine going on to receive the Nobel in the more than three decades that the Wolf Foundation has granted the awards.

The two prizes in mathematics went to Americans George D. Mostow and Michael Artin.  Michael Artin is a SIAM member and Emeritus Professor at MIT.

You can find more details about the award and other prize recipients here.

Print Friendly
facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditlinkedinmailby feather

Comments are closed.